An Introduction

Hello! My name is Elyse Thulin, I am 21 years old, and have just completed my undergraduate degree from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD. When writing an introduction such as this one, I generally describe things like what I majored in (psychology and anthropology), where I grew up (Wyoming) or maybe about what I hope to pursue as a career (global metal health). But for this introduction, I think it is best to say something about a part of my life I rarely do mention in introductions – that I have Type 1 Diabetes. There are several reasons why I don’t mention this aspect of my life to most of the people I encounter- reasons such as having to answer the inevitable 10 questions about how/when/why I was diagnosed, causal factors (my least favorite question being if I ate too much sugar as a kid) and finally the chance that the information will change how the person perceives me in some way. Many people might argue right about now that in order to educate people about Type 1 Diabetes, these questions must be answered. They are correct. But, sometimes I just don’t want to have to be the one answering all those questions on a daily basis. After all, I’m not the T1 guru, I’m just a girl who has experience with the disease. But part of me also knows that one of the best ways I learned about my disease and how to handle the physical and emotional challenges was through the advice and experience of other individuals with Type 1… Which leads me to the motivation behind this blog. A friend and mentor of mine who organizes one of the Maryland Tour-De-Cure bike rides encouraged me to write this as a testimony that life can be fully lived, dreams be pursued, and chances taken while simultaneously managing T1. If you decide to read and follow my blog, I encourage you take this writing as that of a very young adult, who doesn’t know a lot, but wants to share the experiences she’s had, in case it might help anyone else. Please feel free to post comments, criticisms, or questions. Like I said, I’m not the T1 guru, but I am a girl who has been encouraged to dream big, and chase those dreams! With that being said, this blog will reflect me chasing some of my dreams while managing my disease.

The first big adventure on the docket, moving for a year to rural Kenya…

Leave a Reply

